Last night another commercial for the Hanso Foundation aired and advertised another website. http://www.letyourcompassguideyou.com . I logged on but had no idea what to do.
And this marks the end of my blogging on the Lost experience. Oh, I might still follow it casually. But ultimately, I have run out of time to devote to this experience. You see, I am currently doing orientation for my new job and as soon as I get my temp license, I'll start working on the floor. Plus, I write my RN exam June 7th, which is just a few short weeks away. Therefore, I have a feeling most of my posts from this point on will relate primarily to my job and anything else like that.
And this marks the end of my blogging on the Lost experience. Oh, I might still follow it casually. But ultimately, I have run out of time to devote to this experience. You see, I am currently doing orientation for my new job and as soon as I get my temp license, I'll start working on the floor. Plus, I write my RN exam June 7th, which is just a few short weeks away. Therefore, I have a feeling most of my posts from this point on will relate primarily to my job and anything else like that.



1 Comments:
At 9:47 PM,
Anonymous said…
Hi Sarah,
You may already have found out from elsewhere, but -- I logged in and got the compass. Point your mouse cursor to east-south-east (ESE) of the compass -- there is a mouse-over hotspot for the Flash thingy. Click it, and something will happen (you'll see). You're asked a question "if you are one of the good ones," Y/N. If you type "N", you'll be redirected to here: http://www.thehansofoundation.org/#section=bios
If you type "Y", you'll be redirected to here: http://www.letyourcompassguideyou.com/usr/
You get a bunch of what appears to be user's folders, and the "ahanso" folder is a link to the above site with the Alvar Hanso bio.
Most of the folders give you a fake HTTP 403 access forbidden. However, the two folders that don't are "hmcintyr" (Hugh McIntyre) and "pthompso" (Peter Thompson). These folders "simulate" what you'd see in a user's home directory on a UNIX-based system.
This is NOT a real directory structure, they are simply web pages that are made to look like what you'd see if you browsed a web site in a folder view (which is what happens if there's no index.htm).
The two user folders have subfolders called "mail" which have links to all sorts of interesting stuff. I haven't gone through it all yet but you will find it interesting, I'm sure.
You can even find the ad you posted in your blog inside hmcintyr's mail folder (news_ad.jpg). Even more insane: there's a link to a YouTube video which appears to be an old Jeep ad for a CJ7 model, but has the Dharma logo at the end. It was posted to YouTube by the user "thejeepchannel." The user's profile page is here: http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=thejeepchannel
The site, www.letyourcompassguideyou.com, is actually registered by DaimlerChrysler Corporation (do a WHOIS lookup on the domain). Yes, the car company technically owns the site. The hmcintyr mail folder has "scans" of documents about an RFP for DaimlerChrysler vehicles.
I think my brain is going to explode. :)
-- Herman
Post a Comment
<< Home